Dig.lit

Ready, Player 1

Coming up with an Independent Learning Project has been difficult.

Which was odd, because I’m always rooting around and learning new things. This morning I was learning how to repair a hose. I don’t even own a garden hose – or any type of hose.
(It was for a story).

What I learn on my own is usually patchwork and random, because it’s whatever I want or need to research at the moment. Sometimes it’s just curiosity. It’s also, mostly, bits and pieces of trivia. I decided that this Project needs to be something I can sink my teeth into.

There are so many things that I’d like to — or have been meaning to — learn. LGBTQ+ history. Another language. Managing my time effectively. Cross-stitching. How to get a date.

That last one could get interesting, especially years down the line.

Hey babe, I’ll say to my wife. Remember when we met? Did I ever tell you that was for homework? Yeah, uh, two hours of every date was for college credit. 😉 

(She’d be cool with it.)

Anyways, I turned ideas over and over in my mind. I considered what would be fun, what would be worthwhile, and what would I actually learn from. But most of all, I thought about what I would learn to do, if I could learn to do anything.

In the past year or so, I’ve been trying to branch out of my medium of writing. Writing is something I’ve been passionately doing since I was 12 or 13 (there’s a story behind that involving roller-skates and the limbo). As such, nearly a decade later, it’s not really something that I feel I can learn anymore; it’s become something that I, instead, practice.

It’s great to practice. It’s how my writing will continue to evolve from here on out. Sometimes, however, I find myself looking for something new and fresh to spice my skills up a bit. And recently that has meant turning my eyes towards other storytelling mediums — because at the center of it all, I suppose, I’m not a writer; I’m a storyteller.

Last spring I tried to learn the ins and outs of webcomic making. And I learned a lot, and gained some new perspectives about writing. The fact that I archived it (potentially to pick up later) doesn’t negate those learning experiences.

I’m not going to try and make a webcomic again because I want to start something from scratch. Something I’ve never tried to do before. Something completely new. I really want to be challenged, and I want to have a few new skills to put in my toolbox.

So what I am going to do, is use some free software and learn how to make a (very, very) simple video game.

It’s creative, it deals with technology (two very important criteria, personally), and it’s something I’ve always wanted to try my hand at, because I’ve never done anything like it before. It’s a fresh way to tell a (simple) story.

Most of all: it’s something that I’m excited about!

Start
This image brought to you by my MS Paint program.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Ready, Player 1

  1. I really like the idea of making a video game! You do a great job of making all the hard tech stuff sound fun ( I am definitely not good at that). This sounds really fun and exciting as a new learning experience and I hope you enjoy it!

    Like

    1. Thanks! It’s a product of years of interest/work with technology, and a lot of that learning was trial and error. And, actually, a lot of learning the in’s-and-out’s of tech is based in play. If you’re ever interested and need some resources or guides, shoot me a message!

      I’m super excited to see what comes out of this project, and to see what other people come up with too!

      Like

  2. I can tell you’re a writer just by the voice in your writing. It’s very compelling and friendly. I need to take a page out of your book and just try new things in the world of technology. I looks fun but I always fear my computer will blow up. Like for real go up in flames, which is worse than the black screen of death, because you know, fire. I’ve taught myself to knit, cook, can salsa, make jam – all from watching online videos and reading blogs.(Regular June Cleaver stuff because I’m very unJune in real life.) It’s an amazing world out there on the world wide web. I look forward to seeing what you create.

    Like

Share Your Thoughts

